My Newseum experience was a wonderful one.  I have been there multiple times over the past two years and it is one of my favorite places in Washington, D.C.  It is known for being one of D.C.’s most interactive museums and it truly is.  You are able to touch a lot of the things in the exhibits as well as place yourself in different settings.  One of my favorite parts of the Newseum is the NBC News Interactive Newsroom.  In this part of the Newseum you are able to play the role of a reporter by using a microphone in front of the camera to report a news story.  This is very fun especially if you are with friends.  It gives you an idea of what being a reporter would be like and it is truly an experience.  Another part of the Newseum that I enjoy is the gallery of news stories.  There is an abundance of news stories on the walls and in the drawers from many different times.  It is very interesting to see all of the news stories laid out for you dating back to many years ago.  I would have to say my favorite news stories that they have displayed are the ones from the 2008 election.  It was one of the first elections that I was involved in and it’s nice to go back and look at all of the news surrounding it.  In relation to something that we talked about in class, the Berlin Wall Gallery is very nice as well.  It contains news and information about the fall of the Berlin Wall as well as parts of the original wall.  In one part of the gallery there is a piece of the wall for visitors to touch and to have the ability to touch a part of history is truly amazing.  Even though there are many other exhibits in the Newseum, the final and most moving one that I would like to share is the 9/11 gallery.  This gallery has news stories about the attacks lining the walls from top to bottom.  It also has artifacts such as the antenna from the North Tower of the World Trade Center as well as parts of the plane and cell phones found in the rubble.  Looking at all of these things brings me back to that day in September and it is such an awful feeling.   There is also a video playing in a dark room called “Running Toward Danger.”  This moving video brings a tear to almost every eye watching it.  Once you are done watching the video, you can write your thoughts on 9/11in a book and I think that is a very nice touch.  Overall, the Newseum is a great place to visit in Washington, D.C. and I would recommend it to anyone.

The photo I chose is one that I took of the U.S. Capitol Building during one of my visits to the Newseum.  I chose this photo because it is one of my favorites.  The Newseum has a balcony that provides and amazing view of the Capitol on a sunny day.  I feel that this view is just as much a part of the Newseum as the exhibits since you cannot see the Capitol like this anywhere else.

Image

This photo was taken on a beautiful day and it has many elements to it.   The Capitol is surrounded by colorful leaves from the trees and I think the trees really make the picture.  They allow the color of the Capitol Building to stand out on its own while still having pops of color from the trees.  In the center, you can see little cars and little people walking.  This makes the Capitol Building seem huge in comparison to all of the things around it including the trees.  This picture reminds me of a postcard and displays an excellent view of the Capitol Building.

